How to disconnect or delete accounts connected to online banking

To disconnect or delete your bank account or credit card account from QuickBooks Online, this is the best place you have come to. Whenever any user connects their account for online banking, QuickBooks automatically downloads all of their recent transactions.

So in case, a user wants to do not receive any new transactions from their bank,  a very easy and quick solution is to disconnect or delete the account. If you are also searching for such a solution then we are going to tell how you can permanently disconnect or delete your bank accounts when you do not need the information from it anymore.

Pick out disconnect or delete is best for you

You will have to decide whether you want to disconnect your account or delete it completely.  Because there is a huge difference between disconnecting an account and deleting an account. Look at some notes about disconnection or deletion of your account:

Disconnecting accounts from QuickBooks Online

In case you are disconnecting your account from online banking then your previous accounting information will not change anymore. In this case, QuickBooks will only stop downloading any of your new transactions. This is a temporary process so whenever you feel like you need the transaction details, reconnect your account any time to begin downloading your transactions again.

Once you disconnect your account from online banking, QuickBooks will delete all of your transactions that still need to be categorized from the For Review section. In case your transactions are older than nineteen days, then you can not download those transactions into QuickBooks again.

Deleting accounts from QuickBooks Online

Deleting an account is a permanent process. Once you delete your account from online banking, you will not able to view it from menus or lists anymore. When you hold on to any previous information on financial reports, you can even delete transaction reports. However, note that it will be very complex if you want to get your transactions back into your account when you choose to recreate it later on.

In case your transactions in a deleted account are connected to existing accounts in QuickBooks Online, then it will remain in that particular accounts. Let us understands with an example suppose you deleted your credit card account in QuickBooks online, however, you have done card payments with your checking account, so here the record of that transactions will remain in your checking account.

How to disconnect an account connected to online banking

Let us see how you can disconnect an account connected to online banking. Remember to do not disconnect your account when you face any bank connection error. Your this activity can download duplicate transactions once you reconnect it. So make sure to fix the banking error first before moving forward. There are various effective solutions are there so follow the steps to resolve online banking errors. After disconnecting you can reconnect your account again in order to begin the process of downloading transactions. Now without taking further delay let us jump into the disconnection steps:

  1. Open the Banking menu or Transactions menu. Then hit on the Banking tab.
  2. Choose the appropriate tile for your bank account.
  3. Hit on the pencil icon, then click on the option to Edit account info.
  4. Mark the checkbox of Disconnect this account on save. Reminder: In case your QuickBooks is downloading any current transactions, then you will not get this option anymore. So in such a condition, you have to wait for minutes until the update is finished and then try again.
  5. Now hit on the Save and Close button.

How to delete an account from the chart of accounts

As we have discussed disconnection of your account is a temporary thing but deleting your account from the chart of accounts is completely permanent. So be sure before performing this activity then take steps to delete your account and make it inactive.

How to make an account inactive

  1. Open the Settings option and go to the Chart of Accounts.
  2. Search the account you have to delete.
  3. Click on the Action dropdown menu and hit on the option to Make inactive.

How to see your inactive accounts

  1. Open the Settings option and go to the Chart of Accounts.
  2. Now go to the Gear icon from the top of the list.
  3. Mark the checkbox of Include inactive.

How to make an account active again

Well if you have planned to make your inactive account active again then here is the process how to bring your account back:

  1. Open the Settings option and go to the Chart of Accounts.
  2. Now go to the Gear icon from the Action column.
  3. Mark the checkbox of Include inactive.
  4. Search the account you have to use again and click to Make active again.

Conclusion

We hope you get the appropriate solution on how to delete and disconnect accounts connected to QuickBooks online for online banking. We highly recommend disconnecting your account theta are connected with online banking instead of deleting it. The disconnection process will normally stop QuickBooks software from downloading any of your new transactions. However, QuickBooks store those transactions that have already categorized and removes those that still have to be reviewed.

When you make your account inactive or delete, it will be very complex to undo your decision. So in case you want to use the account again in your future, QuickBooks will no shift the balance back into your account. Keep in mind that disconnections a temporary process while deleting them is permanent. For more help, you must contact our expert at QuickBooks support helpline number at +1-888-461-1336.